Banana Muffins ~ my 365th post for the year!

I’ve made it to my 365th post!  It’s been rather fun most days cooking and creating my posts.  Some days it has  been a struggle coming up with my posts; not so much that I didn’t cook but more so that it didn’t seem blog worthy.  I’ve been debating over the past few weeks if I should continue with daily posts or retreat a bit and perhaps post just a couple or so a week.  I still haven’t decided but in the meantime here is my breakfast recipe of the day!

DSCN3432 (640x480)

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 4 o.z. cream cheese
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 1/2  cups flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder ~ I actually was out of baking powder so I used an 1/4 tsp cream of tartar and 1/8 tsp baking soda as a substitution
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Mix together oil, sugar and eggs.  Stir in softened cream cheese and sliced bananas.  Mix together oats, flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Stir into banana mixture until just combined. Add chocolate chips and divide to oiled muffin cups about 3/4 full.  I made 12 muffins and a mini loaf; I would estimate about 16 regular sized muffins could be made with this recipe.  Bake at 375 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

