Mushroom and Mozzarella Meatballs and Spaghetti

I have posted some meatball recipes before but as I was contemplating fixing today’s dinner I realized: why not put them in the crock pot with the sauce to heat everything together?  It was a brilliant idea if I do say so myself.  It’s always so messy heating spaghetti sauce as it can splatter about if you heat too high and a longer heat time allows the sauce to infuse with the meatballs to perfection!

DSCN3487 (640x480)

I added my sauce and cooked meatballs to my slow cooker and heated on high for about 1 1/2 hours.  It was most likely ready sooner but I wasn’t.  Here’s my meatball recipe for today:

  • 3 cloves garlic – minced
  • 1/2 cup diced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup diced bell pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 black pepper
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients in large bowl.  Form into meatballs; I made large meatballs today and go about 10 from the mixture.  Bake at 375 degrees until cooked through; about 30 minutes for large size.

Add to sauce and heat as desired; serve with cooked pasta.

DSCN3488 (640x451)

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

