Spaghetti Squash ……. with Salsa

I know it sounds crazy but I just couldn’t resist pairing two of my favorite foods.  It was amazing!

If you haven’t read about this in my earlier posts the best way to prepare a spaghetti squash is to bake it whole.  Pierce it a couple of times with a fork or knife and bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes to an hour.  Do this ahead of time; a day in advance, an hour in advance or whatever works for your time schedule.  Once cool enough to handle cut in half, remove seeds and then using a fork fluff  the “spaghetti” out of the shell.

2013-08-11 001 003 (800x600)

So on to the recipe.  In a large skillet heat up a bit of olive oil or butter.  Saute squash about 5 minutes to heat through.  Toss with your favorite homemade salsa. I used a simple tomato, onion, jalapeno, cilantro and lime juice version but you can use something like the salsa fresco recipe, the tomatillo salsa recipe or my roasted jalapeno salsa recipe.

If you need some ideas ~ Just click on the kind of salsa you’d like to try for a quick link to the recipe.

 

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

6 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash ……. with Salsa

  1. Kimberly, I made this tonight for dinner and it was out of this world good! I made up a homemade salsa for the very first time! (I completely winged that and added what I wanted in the salsa and it turned out wonderfully, too, as another side dish. I never would have dreamed of adding salsa to spaghetti squash but this was fabulous. I’d like to try it with a corn, bean and avocado (homemade) salsa sometime too. I bet that would be great as well. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe. I like the fact that it’s so healthy, too! Teresa

  2. Pingback: Chunky Homemade Salsa - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Salsa - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a comment